NATIONAL COUNCIL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE CONSTITUTION TERMS OF REFERENCE

Establishment

- 1. Alan Ransome OBE National Council for Cleveland proposed the establishment of a Select Committee on Constitution. The proposal has gone to all National Councillors who have agreed the Chair shall be Alan Ransome and the Select Committee created.
- 2. MAG Chairman has been consulted and is in favour. He has confirmed that there is no significant clash with the work being carried out by MAG.

Responsibility & Purpose

- 1. To explore the opportunities for revision of our Constitution as allowed by Sport England guidelines. Examining Constitution of other National Governing Bodies similar to ourselves and look for improvements that would give their members more input into the protection of the sport. Take account of the Governance review following the EGM in 2017.
- 2. Examining the effects that the change required by Sport England to move the decision making body in table tennis from National Council to the Board in 2013, highlighting the benefits of the move to the sport as well as identifying any weaknesses to consider how they can be restored in the future.

Membership of the Select Committee

The majority of Select Committee members should be National Councillors but any other TTE member may be invited to be a member.

The relevant staff member(s) should be invited, through the Head of Operations and Governance, to discuss the issue with the Select Committee through a Zoom call.

Alan Ransome discussed the possible Chairmanship of this Committee with Alex Murdoch and suggested he could be proposed to take on this role. Alex was very happy with the direction of the Select Committee and was willing to be a member but preferred Alan Ransome to take on the Chairmanship.

Alan Ransome OBE N Cllr Cleveland Chairman Alex Murdoch **Deputy Chairman** N Cllr Bedfordshire Malcolm Allsop N Cllr Derbyshire **Peter Charters** N Cllr Berkshire Chris Dangerfield N Cllr Shropshire Richard Hudson N Cllr Yorkshire N Cllr Somerset Josh Kelly N Cllr Kent Neil Le Milliere

Diane Webb Individual Member

Alan Ransome OBE